Getting The Fracts, Environmental Bloggers On A Roll

Ads Cost Money But The Truth About Shale Gas Drilling Is Free
I laugh a little when I hear Gas Industry folks complain about how well-funded the anti-fracking movement is. To which groups are they referring? I’m a fractivist. I volunteer, and I’m in very good company. The organizations I support are transparent about their funding, too, even if it’s the wrong brand of donor, as was recently the case with Sierra Club. Difficult as it must have been, Sierra came clean about Chesapeake Energy underwriting its Beyond Coal campaign. Now, I suspect, they’re working doubly hard to get beyond Gas.

It’s true, there’s a growing list of major environmental groups who want to ban or limit Unconventional Gas Drilling, and they have relatively “major” funding. Some of them are linked at right. In true grassroots fashion, though, there are far more unsung heroes comprising the ever-expanding, unpaid anti-fracking chorus.

These cats have computers, and they aren’t afraid to use them. Each, in their own way, is establishing a public record of extreme gas extraction and its assault on our water, air and land. I don’t imagine I’ve aggregated them all, but the sites listed below are packed with Fracking facts, aimed squarely at dispelling Shale Gas fictions.

Anti-Fracking Bloggers Blogroll 

Action PA:   www.actionpa.org

Amy Mall’s Blog:  switchboard.nrdc.org/blogs/amall

Allegheny Defense Project:  alleghenydefenseproject.wordpress.com

Barnett Shale Hell (Texas):  barnettshalehell.wordpress.com

Berks Gas Truth:  hwww.gastruth.org

Bluedaze Drilling Reform:   texassharon.com

Bob’s Blog:  donnan.com/fracking-water.htm

Calvin Tillman, Dish TX:  baddish.blogspot.com

Catskill Mountainkeeper:  catskillmountainkeeper.org/our-programs/fracking/marcellus-shale

Catskill Citizens for Safe Energy:  catskillcitizens.org

Center for Healthy Environments and Communities:  chec.pitt.edu/MSGEcommunity.html

Cheap Tricks & Costly Truths:  jamminmole.blogspot.com

Damascus Citizens for Sustainability:   damascuscitizens.org

Danger Drilling:  dangerdrilling.com

River Voice, The Delaware Riverkeeper’s blog:  delawarerivervoice.blogspot.com

De-Smog Blog:  desmogblog.com

Energy Policy Forum:   energypolicyforum.com

Faces of Frackland, PA:  pafaces.wordpress.com

FrackAlert, Northeast PA Residents & Landowners Against Fracking:  frackalert.org

Fracked:  frackedagain.blogspot.com

Fracking Curation Project: fracktivism.wordpress.com

Fracking Underground:  frackingunderground.blogspot.com

FrackMountain:  frackmountain.wordpress.com

FracTracker.org:  fracktrack.org/impact.php
Marcellus Mapping Tool, new and Improved to track of the enactment of local impact fees.

Gas Drilling Awareness Coaltion: gdacoalition.org

Gas Exploitation, Assault to the Senses, Dimock, PA:  gasexploitation.wordpress.com

Gas Safety USA:  gassafetyusa.com/blog

Gas Wells Are Not Our Friends, Dear Susquehanna:  dearsusquehanna.blogspot.com

Gas Wells on the Monongahela:   monongahelagas.wordpress.com

Hydrofracking Virginia:   hydrofracking.virginiajournal.org

Luzerne County Citizens for Clean Water:   lcccw.wordpress.com

Marcellus Effect:   marcelluseffect.blogspot.com

Marcellus Mayhem:  marcellusmayhem.blogspot.com

Marcellus Protest: marcellusprotest.org

Marcellus Shale-US:  marcellus-shale.us
Fracking photojournalism at its best.

Natural Gas Watch, gas explosion watchdogs:  naturalgaswatch.org

Neighbors of the Onondaga Nation:   peacecouncil.net/NOON/hydrofrac

No Fracking in New York Aquifers:  nofracking.com

NEPA Gas Action, Citizens for Clean Water, Susquehanna County, PA:   nepagasaction.org

Protecting Our Waters:  protectingourwaters.wordpress.com

Protect The Endless Mountains of PA:  endlessmountains.blogspot.com

Responsible Drilling Alliance:   responsibledrillingalliance.org

Sane Energy Project, NYC:  saneenergyproject.org

Save Our Streams PA: saveourstreamspa.org

Save The Delaware: savethedelaware.wordpress.com

Shale Gas Review, Tom Wilbur’s new book, Under The Surface, is due out this spring:  tomwilber.blogspot.com

Shale Shock!:  shaleshock.org

Solid Shale, New York State:  solidshale.wordpress.com

Splashdown PA, Defending Our Water Now!:  splashdownpa.blogspot.com

Un-Natural Gas:  un-naturalgas.org/weblog

What The Frack?: wtfrackorg.blogspot.com

List is by no means complete… Please send thoughts, or links you like!

One Response to “Getting The Fracts, Environmental Bloggers On A Roll”

  1. Julie A. Edgar Says:

    great aggregation of sites/resources…thanks for all your efforts, Liz!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,135 other followers

%d bloggers like this: